Days 60, 61, 62, 63, 64: Half Marathon

My sister and I finished our very first half marathon in about 2 hours and 12 minutes. Temps were in the low 80s, and the entire run was in the shade. The first 11 miles or so felt really good. The final 1.5 miles were excruciatingly slow, but we finished and we finished together.

We crossed the finish line holding hands, and wound up getting 10th and 11th place in our age group. I would definitely do another half marathon, and am even considering doing one in the beginning of December. However, I don’t see myself ever doing a full marathon, and I am okay with that.

After finishing the run, my knees hurt the rest of the day. My right knee was bothering me yesterday as well, but I am feeling good today. For the most part, I am not really sore. I think that means I trained properly.

It feels like such an accomplishment when you complete something you have been working toward for a long time. I plan to do 3 miles this afternoon, and then I will be ready for Day 66 tomorrow!

 

Leave a comment